Health and Fitness: What’s Working for Me

As you may remember, one of my New Year’s Resolutions (and probably almost every other person’s) was to be healthier.  And I finally feel like I have gotten into a really good exercise and health groove.  I gave up on the 30 Day Shred, sorry Jillian.  It just wasn’t fun, I didn’t look forward to it, I didn’t enjoy doing it and I think it was also a bit too hard on my joints.  It is a really high intensity program and I don’t think it is for everyone.

So what am I doing?

Zumba Fitness-On Tuesday and Thursday, I do Zumba for 20 minutes and 45 minutes on Sunday.  I bought Zumba Fitness 2 at the beginning of the year and its so much better than the first Zumba Fitness for the Xbox Kinect.  I really look forward to doing it, there’s a much better selection of songs and different Zumba instructors and backgrounds.  It also tracks how much time you have Zumba’ed, calories burned and your accuracy.  The songs will get stuck in your head and I often find myself dancing around while making dinner breaking out the Zumba moves!

Yoga-Zumba is great for cardio, but I wanted something to help tone and strengthen.  That’s when I started 30 Days of Yoga with Adriene after reading about it through Vivianna Does Makeup.  First off, I love Adriene!  Her videos are so easy to follow and she has a very go with the flow vibe, “find what feels good” is her mantra.  I do yoga on the days when I’m not doing Zumba.  Heels almost touching the floor for downward dog now!

namaste-yall

Healthier Eating-I have made two main changes to how I eat in my bid to be healthy.  My husband and I eat pretty ok anyway, we both enjoy cooking so we make almost all our meals ourselves.  My problem is mostly at work.

I don’t eat breakfast during the work week, I just am not a breakfast person and usually subsist on coffee and tea until lunch, not good.  So I have started bringing smoothies to work so that I can drink my breakfast.  My go to smoothie is one banana, 1/2 cup of orange juice and 1 cup mixed frozen fruit.  I use my Blend Active to make smoothies, which you can read about here.

Also for lunches, we have started buying chicken breasts, marinating in a bit of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, and herbs to put in salads.  The key to enjoy salads I think is variety.  We also keep of plethora of salad “extras” to spice things up, beet root, picked onions, cucumber, seeds, hard-boiled eggs, avocados, cherry tomatoes, peppers, etc.  Pick from a few of those items, spinach, salad leaves, and a bit of dressing and you’re good to go, a nice healthy lunch.

So between the smoothie and my lunch, I at least know I’ve had two healthy meals for the day!

Healthy living has become a huge focus in the blogging world recently.  Have you tried anything to live a healthier lifestyle lately?

xx

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

