My New Love: The Beauty Blender

I finally received a much-anticipated package this weekend.  If you saw my January Birchbox review, you will know I signed up with the sole purpose of getting the free Beauty Blender and cleanser for new subscriptions.  Upon opening, my first thought was, ” Wow, this is really small.  Who would pay £26 for this thing?”.  Now, obviously you don’t need a gigantic sponge to apply your makeup and the sponge does get quite a bit bigger after you dampen it, the little sponge just didn’t seem to warrant the price tag.

And I’m still not sure it does, when this thing dies on me I might have to go for the Real Techniques version because as much as I love it, I don’t think I’d want to part with £26 for a little pink makeup sponge.

2015-01-26 16.37.17

The arrival of my Beauty Blender was quite timely because my work has just installed new LED lights throughout the office.  Going from an office space barely lit by flickering computer monitors to bright white lights everywhere is not very flattering on a 6:30 am makeup job while you’re half awake in a dimly lit bathroom.  One of my coworkers kept asking me if I was too warm until I realised I might have been a little heavy-handed with my blush application that morning.

Normally, I apply my foundation with my Real Techniques buffing brush, but as soon as I starting applying with the Beauty Blender, I knew I definitely preferred it.  You dampen the sponge and squeeze it out and lightly “bounce” the foundation across your skin.  It gives a nice sheer, even cover that you can build up by layer.  I think it would definitely work best with liquid foundations.  Also great for blending in your concealer with the pointy end.  I did notice I needed to use more foundation than with my brush (might be because of the foundation laden state of the brush though, shame on me, wash your brushes!).

Overall, it’s a winner.  Non-streaky flawless speedy application.  Looks great under LED lights.

Have you tried the Beauty Blender or its subsequent knock offs?  What’s your opinion on the price point?

xx

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

