Books I Read in 2014

I saw a few other bloggers doing posts about books they read in 2014 and thought I’d do the same.  I love reading, I received a Kindle Paperwhite from mister for Christmas 2013 which I absolutely fell in love with.  I usually have 2 books on the go, a book on my Kindle to read at work and then an actual book for bath time reading.  I set a goal of 40 books on my Goodreads account for last year, didn’t quite make it though.  I did read quite a few 700 pages books (including all the Game of Thrones books) so I can forgive myself, but I am trying for 40 again this year!  If you are on Goodreads, add me here.

And on to the books!  I read 35 books for a total of 17,171 pages! (I’ve marked my 5 star books with an asterick.)
Life Mask by Donoghue, Emma

*The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1) by Robert Galbraith-Loved this and can’t wait to read the second book in the series which is already out apparently!

The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling-Preferred Cuckoo’s Calling to this offering from Rowling, felt like she was trying too hard to shake the Harry Potter rep.

Doctor Sleep (The Shining #2) by Stephen King-My favorite author, picks up where The Shining left off.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie-Great read!  If you’re a fan of the movie, Clue, give this a go!

The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne

The Loyal Servant: A Very British Political Thriller (The Women Sleuths, #1) by Eva Hudson

Perfect Meringues by Laurie Graham

Dust (Kay Scarpetta #21) by Patricia Cornwell

Falling by Emma Kavanagh-I won this as a First Reads book from Goodreads.  It starts with a plane crash and follows 4 different storylines that somehow all intertwine, would definitely recommend.

*The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins-I loved this book, it’s really long and really old, but as a mystery, it was just as good as any modern-day novel.

Under your Skin by Sabine Durrant

Bloody Mary (Jack Daniels Mystery, #2) by JA Konrath

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte-Am I the only one who thinks Heathcliffe is a complete asshole??

*Joyland by Stephen King

The Liar’s Daughter by Laurie Graham-I love this author, if you like a bit of dark humour along with some historical fiction, you’ll love her books.

Blood and Justice (Jake and Annie Lincoln, #1) by Rayven T Hill

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde-Another amazing classic that I finally got around to reading (a lot of them were free for the Kindle off Amazon).

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Sherlock Holmes, #4) by Arthur Conan Doyle

The King In Yellow by Robert W Chambers

Doll Bones by Holly Black-Had high hopes for this book just because the cover looked awesome as did the tagline, but it was a bit disappointing.

Fresh Doubt by Eva Hudson

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

The Wrong Mother by Sophie Hannah

Longbourn by Jo Baker

A Game of Thrones, *A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, A Dance with Dragons by George RR Martin-I read these books after watching the tv series, I did find that I was rushing through trying to get to the bit where the series ended (it took awhile), but I still really enjoyed the books.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt-Everyone raved about this book, I thought it started off strong, but I hated the main character by the end of the book as it slowly went downhill.

The Constant Princess, The Other Boleyn Girl, The Boleyn Inheritance by Phillipa Gregory-I have a thing for tarted up Tudor stories.

Because She Loves Me by Mark Edwards

Whew!  If you want a more in depth review of any of the books listed, let me know and I’ll answer in the comments!  If you have any recommendations for my 2015 reading list, let me know!  Have you read any of these books, thoughts, opinions?

xx

2 thoughts on “Books I Read in 2014

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

