Nivea Express Hydration Primer

First off, I would like to apologise for the sporadic posts.  Mister and I are in the process of buying our first home (which actually seems to be happening with a lot of the bloggers I read right now!) so that has been taking up a lot of my time.  It’s very exciting and stressful and I might write a bit more on the topic once everything is finalised (don’t want to jinx anything, haha!).  Now onto this primer/moisturiser, which I found to be crap at both of those titles.

I had run out of my normal Boots Botanics Ultra Calming Cream (which I vow to never stray from again) and decided to pick up something at Asda while we were doing our grocery shop instead of making a separate trip to Boots.  I had heard good things about the Nivea Primer and even tried a sample so I picked a pot up.

2014-04-14 17.42.03I guess the one good thing I can say about it is that the packaging is nice.  It comes in a heavy glass jar with a cute pink lid.

The product itself is lightly scented, it does have the slightly silicone smooth feel to it when you apply it.  As a moisturiser, I found it was just not moisturising enough for my skin.  It also broke me out all over my chin, which was lovely.

As a primer, I found that it actually made my foundation kind of pill up on my skin.  This was after letting it absorb for some time too.  I didn’t notice any difference to the longevity of my makeup.

2014-04-14 17.42.28So all around, a disappointment.  I have now purchased a tub of my beloved Boots Botanics Ultra Calming Cream and have pawned this off on my mister (waste not, want not).  He’s not fussy and I just didn’t mention the primer bit to him.

Have you tried the Nivea Express Hydration Primer?  Do you use a primer or just stick to a moisturiser?

xx

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

