The Goodreads Tag

Taken from Rachael of Dear Ms. Leigh, I decided to do this tag because if you saw my last post on Goodreads, I’ve become quite addicted to that site after receiving my Kindle for Christmas.

1. What was the last book you marked as “read”?

I just finished The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne (author of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea).  This was a long read, but very interesting survival tale based on a true story.  Also if you are a fan of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Captain Nemo also makes an appearance!  I got this book for free for the Kindle off of Amazon, I have been trying to read more classics and you can find many of them in the Free Kindle Books section.

2.   What are you currently reading?

Dust by Patricia Cornwell, this is part of her Kay Scarpetta series, on which CSI and those types of crime shows were originally based.  It follows a medical examiner who happens to be married to an FBI agent.  I’m a sucker for a good crime novel and the science of forensics this book goes into is so interesting.  I’ve read most of the series and this is the 21st book in the series.

3.  What was the last book you marked as “to read”?

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, a gothic horror novel, combining history and horror and Victorian times, sounds right up my alley!

4.  What book do you plan on reading next?

Perfect Meringues by Laurie Graham.  I love Laurie Graham, a lot of her books are set in 1920-1940 eras and while set in England, there’s usually some kind of connection to the US which being an US expat in England really appeals to me.  I’ve loved every book of her’s I’ve read so far and I’m sure this one won’t disappoint either.

5.  Do you use the star rating system?

I do, but I find it a bit difficult, I find it hard to score harshly unless it was a book I truly truly hated (As I Lay Dying anyone?).  So I have a lot of 4-5 star reviews, my 3 stars are the ones that probably weren’t all that great.

6.  Are you doing a 2014 Reading Challenge?

Yes, I started out at 50 books, but changed it to 40 when I realized that wasn’t really feasible.  I’m on track at the moment.

7.  Do you have a wish list?

No, but my to read list is pretty much my wish list (unless purchased already).

8.  What book do you plan to buy next?

I am contemplating purchasing the Divergent series for my Kindle.

9.  Do you have any favorite quotes?  Do you want to share a few?

This isn’t a quote from a book, but from one of my favorite authors, Neil Gaiman.

“I think the biggest difference between England and America is that England has history, and America has geography. In England, you can find whatever you need as long as you’re willing to go back far enough, or go and find out when it happened. In America you can find whatever you need just as long as you’re prepared to drive far enough.”

10.  Who are your favorite authors?

Laurie Graham, Chuck Palaniuk, Sophie Hannah, Patricia Cornwell, Neil Gaiman, Michael Crichton and my number one author has to be Stephen King.

11.  Have you joined any groups?

Nope.

12.  Any questions you’d like to add?

Favorite childhood author?

Mine is definitely Roald Dahl, I loved Boy and a lot of his short story compilations.

Feel free to do this tag and let me know in the comments!  You can follow me on Goodreads here.

xx

2 thoughts on “The Goodreads Tag

  1. Hi Mandy! I just wanted to comment about the Divergent Series! It is somewhat similar to the Hunger Games, and the books are really good! I recommend them!

    • Hey Jade! I think I will definitely be buying them for my Kindle when I finish my current books, it seems like everyone who’s read them, loves them! xx

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

