What I Got For Christmas 2013

Hello my neglected blog readers!  Sorry for the hiatus, but I have spent the past two weeks in Minnesota visiting with family and friends and enjoying my first Christmas back in the states after spending the past couple in the UK.  So blogging was quite far from my mind during that time, but new year, new start and all that jazz so I have quite a few posts in the works at the moment.

*Standard disclaimer about how I’m not bragging and if this kind of post isn’t for you, kindly click away, etc, etc, blah de blah blah*

Feeling very lucky/spoilt this year, I received so many wonderful gifts!

2014-01-05 11.49.23Candles!  I love candles so much, I received the GINORMOUS Woodwick Trilogy in Exotic Spices from the mister.  And I also received the Bath and Bodyworks 3 wick candles in Winter Candy Apple, Cranberry Pear Bellini, Champagne Toast, and Mahogany Teakwood from my parents.  Considering there isn’t Bath and Bodyworks in the UK, I had to ask for scents based on blogger/vloggers favorites and they are good ones!  I currently have Winter Candy Apple in my living room and Mahogany Teakwood in the bathroom.  I think I did an extraordinary job of transporting these babies in my luggage intact all the way from Minnesota back to the UK!

2014-01-05 11.50.02I also received some books from the family as well.  I am a huge fan of Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series and asked for the newest book, Dust.  Also a HUGE Stephen King fan and got Doctor Sleep, a sequel to the Shining.  Can’t wait to get stuck into both of these, but which one first?? (Also between the books and the candles, I am rather impressed I managed to keep my luggage under weight coming back!).

2014-01-05 11.50.35I was very excited to receive the Teapigs Pick n’ Mix sampler from my brother-in-law.  I’ve already tried the chai (delicious with milk and honey) and the much raved about peppermint liquorice.  I asked for and got a Minnesota mug from my sister this year.  I’ve been trying to get a mug now every time we visit someplace new so someday we will have a nice hodge podge of mugs from all the places we’ve travelled (inspired by Essiebutton) and I had to have one from my home state!  I love this mug, it is covered in all things Minnesotan!

2014-01-05 11.51.42My big gift from the hubby this year was a Kindle Paperwhite.  I love reading, but as you can see by the kind of books I read, they are not really handbag friendly and since I read on my lunch hour/on the bus to work, I am often schlepping heavy old books back and forth to work.  I am one of those people who was not too keen on e-readers at first because I love the feel of a good heavy book, but everyone I know who uses an e-reader raves about it.  Can’t wait to load this baby up with books, suggestions welcome!  He also got me an orange cover (my favorite colour) to go with it.  I also got the DKNY Be Delicious fragrance set from my mom and dad.  This is my original all time favorite perfume, I ran out and bought the Red Delicious one year (the Red ALWAYS seems to be on offer), but it’s just not as good and I am happy to have an old favorite back!

2014-01-05 11.52.57And would Christmas be complete without Soap and Glory?  The bits on the left are from the Relaxstation gift set which I got from work.  It came with a hair turban that I have been using and absolutely love, it really cuts down on hair drying time.  I bought the Yule Monty gift for myself, haha, such a bargain I could not resist.  And I won the manicure set on the end in a Twitter giveaway from Amelia Liana.  So I think I will be well stocked with Soap and Glory for upcoming year 🙂

Hope everyone had a lovely holiday and New Year!  I am back to work on Monday which I think will be a bit of a shock, hope I will mostly be over my jet lag by then!

What was your favorite gift you received this year?  Anyone else fall off the blogging bandwagon over the holiday season?

xx

3 thoughts on “What I Got For Christmas 2013

  1. Cute presents! I had no idea that Bath and Body Works were now in the UK, how exciting! 🙂
    I totally fell off the blogwagon, but I’m back with a vengeance now – I’m not doing a ‘Christmas presents’ post as such, but there sure are a lot of new things for me to review 😀

    • Haha, I meant” isn’t in the UK”, last minute editing! I wish they were in the UK though, someday!

      It’s so hard over the holidays with blogging, all I did (and still want to do) is eat and spend time with people! Trying to get a few posts lined up today. It’s hard with this weather to take good photos though, silly rain! x

      • Oh, shame 😛 Still, we can keep hoping! 🙂
        There was a tiny break in the rain today, so I’ve snapped the quickest outfit post in the world – hope it ends up okay, normally they take ages! I hate how the rain doesn’t just stop you taking photos outside, it also kills all the light inside so literally ALL my photos over Christmas look terrible 😛

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

