DIY: Candle Jars

If you’re a beauty blogger, I can guarantee you have at least 2-3 candle jars sitting in your home at any given time.  With the popularity of Yankee Candles (read my thoughts here), Bath and Body Works, Diptyque, or my beloved Woodwick, you are bound to have a few candles sitting around that have reached the end of their burning lifespan.  And these babies are not cheap so you might as well get as much use as possible out of them!

2013-10-19 13.26.27

There are a few different methods for cleaning out candle jars, the easiest and my favorite way is to use boiling water.

1.  Heat up the kettle and pour boiling water to the top of your candle jar.

2013-10-19 13.26.05

2.  Let the candle sit for about 5 minutes and you should see most of the wax rise to the top of the jar, lava lamp style.  Use a butter knife to give it a stir round the bottom to loosen up any wax on the bottom and the metal bit of the wick.  Have a paper towel or tissue handy to wipe the wax off the knife you used immediately so you aren’t scraping off hard wax later.  DO NOT POUR ANY MELTED WAX DOWN THE DRAIN.

2013-10-19 13.28.02

3.  Let the water cool and you should be able to pull the disk of wax off the top of the candle and dispose of it.  Dump out the water and use a paper towel to wipe out any excess wax.

4.  Wash the candle jar with hot soapy water and voila!

2013-10-20 14.41.35Perfect for keeping things tidy in the bathroom, I use mine to hold my brushes and cotton pads.

Do you reuse your candle jars?  What are you burning this winter?

xx

 

2 thoughts on “DIY: Candle Jars

  1. Great idea, I love anything that encourages people to recycle around the home. Sorry to disappoint I only own 1 candle and that was sent for review, I must be the only blogger who doesn’t go crazy for candles, unfortunately the artificial scents in many of them play havoc with my allergies.

    • With allergies, I can understand not having a lot of candles around! Truth be told, I only have 3 right now, two Wilkos pillar candles by the mantle, and one Bath and Body Works I brought back from the states!

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

