Let’s Talk Fitness

Consider me to be somewhat reluctantly hoisting myself onto the health kick band wagon that has been making the rounds in the blogosphere lately.  When it comes to health and fitness, I am a bit lazy, no, very lazy.  I actually won a free one year membership to a gym that is about a 10 minute walk from where I live.  That was back in February, I’ve been a grand total of 5 times.  Why?  I can’t be bothered to walk there and back.

Now, I’m not looking to lose weight (lose, not loose people!!!), but despite the fact that I am thin, I am not healthy.  I think that was my problem initially, because I’m not overweight, I didn’t really feel the need to do any exercise.  But when I realized I get out breath walking up 3 flights of stairs at work, I knew I needed to do something.  I lead a pretty sedentary lifestyle and after getting my blood pressure tested recently and not being entirely happy with the results and having a bit of a middle that resembles freshly needed bread dough, it was time for a change.

I know that I needed to do something that appealed to my laziness if it was going to be something that would be sustainable for myself.  The first change was to tackle the middle.  I have started doing Winsor Pilates every other day.  I used to do this at uni and I absolutely love it, first off, its effective.  I’ve only been doing it two weeks and I can already see a noticeable difference.  Also it’s quick, it’s a 20 minute workout I can do right on my living room floor, I do it before or after dinner and done!  It’s also quite relaxing and nice to stretch out after a day at work, definitely give it a go if you want to tone up, but don’t like the idea of going to the gym.

So that takes care of my strength, still working on cardio at the moment.  I do have a 20 minute walk to work a few days a week, but it’s not really enough.  I think this week I am going to try to incorporate Zumba on the Xbox on the nights I don’t do Pilates.

As far as diet, I am pretty happy with what I eat.  My husband and I cook all our meals fresh, we don’t use any pre-made meals.  We try to eat veggie a few times a week as well.  I did start tracking my diet with My Fitness Pal app though.  Love this app and it does help you see your eating trends.  After a few weeks of use, I can see that I usually am under my calorie count during the week, but then go way over on the weekends.  I also can see that I need to eat more protein, and lay off the fat on the weekend.  It’s a good tool to get a gauge of your eating patterns and see what things can be tweaked.

In general, I think with exercise and diet, you really need to find something that you can enjoy and that appeals to you.  Otherwise, you won’t be able to keep it up and will just end up getting frustrated, so although these may seem like small changes, they are first steps and that is progress!

What things do you do to try to have a healthy lifestyle?  Are you a gym bunny or a gymaphobe?

xx

6 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Fitness

  1. I am definitely a gym bunny! And if I can’t make it to the gym, I have plenty of BodyRock.tv home exercises I do for an hour or I take to the streets for a run & walk & jog for an hour too. I make sure to train/exercise six days a week and have a day off.

    And obviously all that training would be in vain if my eating was all over the place…so I make sure to eat the right types of food pre and post workout; and of course eat healthily and well all other times – plenty of veggies, fruits, whole grains, LOVE salmon and avocados – my favourite foods, water, rooibos and green tea, dark chocolate (at least 70% cocoa) amongst many other foods I eat.

    So yeah! LMAO. As you can see, I am all in. And I love it. 🙂

  2. Do you have a link or anything for a how to on the Windsor pilates? Would love to give it a try! I did zumba and weights classes religiously for a few years after my doc telling me I ran a high risk of type II diabetes if I continued going the way I was. I messed up my back unfortunately so there went zumba and weights – I had to cut back a lot. I do mainly cardio and yoga for strength now.

    It is absolutely true, you must LIKE it, otherwise you’ll never do it!

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

