Product Review: Neutrogena Visibly Clear Pore & Shine Daily Scrub

I am a big fan of Neutrogena’s Visibly Clear Pink Grapefruit Daily Scrub, so when the Visibly Clear range was on offer for 2 for 1, I decided to branch out and try the Pore & Shine version in the range.

2013-08-09 12.04.34This is a creamy face wash with green micro beads that gently exfoliate.  It claims to mattify and help minimize the appearance of pores.  I don’t really have any issues with my pores, but my skin can get oily.  I did really like this cleanser, it did make a difference in the oiliness of my skin.  The creamy formula helps control oil without drying out your skin.  So normally, I would recommend this scrub.

But then I read this article recently on how micro beads are affecting the environment.  Those lovely little beads that are so good at gently exfoliating your skin are getting washed down the shower drain and end up in our oceans.

2013-08-09 12.04.54You can see on the ingredients list that polyethylene is included, that means the microbeads are plastic.  So for now, I will be foregoing my Neutrogena scrubs in favor of using a creamy cleanser with a flannel and a chemical exfoliating toner.  I’m tempted to go back to my old favorite of St. Ives Apricot Scrub, but everyone seems to be up in arms about the harshness of the apricot kernels.

Do any of  your favorite cleansers contain microbeads?  Will you give them up to help the environment?

xx

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Neutrogena Visibly Clear Pore & Shine Daily Scrub

  1. Hi there! I’m not sure if you can get this product in the UK but the St. Ives green tea scrub is a fantastic alternative to the original version. It’s much more gentle than the original and is made with more a fine sandy product. It’s still very exfoliating though so you shouldn’t need to use it more than a few times a week. I’d love to hear your opinions on it if you do end up trying it! 😀

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

