American Drugstore Haul!

Hey lovelies!  I am back after my holiday in the states, which went by way too quickly, but now I will be able to give this neglected blog a bit of attention.  I had an amazing time, although getting back was a nightmare thanks to United Airlines, if you want to read about what I did during my time in the states, I’ll have a post up on my lifestyle blog in the next week or so.

Anyway, onto the makeup!  I did a fair bit of shopping while visiting home, the pound to dollar rate is decent and prices are just generally cheaper in Minnesota anyway.  So while the mister stocked up on brands such as Vans, Oakley, and Volcom at ridiculous prices, I hit the drugstore makeup and also got a few nice dresses and work bits at Target and Kohl’s.

I will be doing full reviews on most of these products in the next few weeks!

2013-07-08 10.20.10Milani Baked Blush in 02 Rose D’Oro-This is gorgeous rosey pink with gold running through, very pigmented.  Wish I would have picked up a few more, but the Milani section was really picked over and this was actually the last blush at the Target I went to!

Wet n’ Wild Comfort Zone Palette-I was a little worried I’d have trouble finding this palette, but there were a ton of them!  I can’t wait to try this out, there are some great colours in this palette.

Eos Raspberry Pomegranate Lip Balm-I bought the sweet mint lip balm off of Amazon for £6.99 and I picked this up for $2.99 at Target!  At that price, I had to get another, love this lip balms.  Although I do find the packaging does get grubby quickly in your handbag.

Maybelline Babylips in Cherry-I was ummed and ahhed about getting this because Babylips have gotten so much hype for some reason and when it comes down to it, they are just a lip balm.  They were cheap though, $1.99, so I thought why not?  And it’s not that great, it smells nice, but it’s not that moisturizing, I’d say it lasts about 2 hours before you need to reapply.  And even though I got a the dark red, it doesn’t really tint my lips at all.  Disappointing.

Maybelline Volum’ Express Falsies Big Eyes Mascara-This mascara has an end for top lashes and bottom lashes with corresponding brushes.  The brushes are great, the mascara is very defining, doesn’t really add volume though.  I did find the lower lash mascara did smudge a bit even with the waterproof formula, but I was wearing it in roasting weather and with a lot of greasy SPF so I might give it a try in the office enviroment to see how it holds up.

2013-07-21 15.37.05L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Bronzed Taupe-Picked this up as its exclusive to the states, it’s a nice enough product, but I haven’t been really wowed by it.  I do like the colour though, very wearable on its own or layered up, it does crease though!

As you can see I also made a stop to the Bath and Bodyworks, I blame Ingrid for my candle purchase (what is it with beauty gurus and candles anyway?).

Bath and Bodyworks Candle in Caribbean Salsa-Normally, I am a Woodwick candle snob, but after sniffing these I had to get one.  The price is also amazing, reduced from $20 to $12, I would have picked up more, but room in my carry on was limited.  They also swabbed it for drugs at the Chicago Airport so probably good I wasn’t carrying a ton of them!

And as you can see, I also picked up a handful of Bath and Bodyworks anti-bacterial hand gels, the scents are awesome and they were on offere 5 for $5 so I stocked up!

So there you have it, I didn’t exactly go mad, but I did get the things I really wanted to pick.  We are visiting again at Christmas so I will probably be doing some more shopping then (after Christmas sales, here I come!).  Keep an eye out for in-depth reviews with swatches, looks, etc in the upcoming weeks!

Have you tried any of these products before?  What should have I got that I missed?

xx

4 thoughts on “American Drugstore Haul!

  1. Hope you had a great holiday! How disappointing about the Baby Lips! I have the peppermint one so it’s not tinted, but I do find it really hydrating. xx

    • Thank you! It was wonderful, didn’t want to come back, haha! Yeah, I just think the eos balms are so much better, but it was cheap and it smells nice, so meh! x

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

