New Look Haul: Business Casual

I recently started a new job, besides all the new exciting challenges that come along with that, I also had to deal with leaving a job that provided uniform to the scary world of “business casual”.  Business casual apparently means a lot of different things to a lot of different people.  I have seen people rocking trainers, jeans, Ugg boots, and probably the worst offender of all, slightly worn/see through black leggings.

After my first week has passed, I think I found a definition of the dress code that I am comfortable with, I already have a few pencil skirts and button down shirts.  I really just needed a few supplemental items and my previous work colleagues kindly gave me a very generous voucher to New Look so here’s what I got (in a clockwise fashion)!

2013-06-23 13.50.27Nude Heels (£12.99)-At my previous job, black heels were standard, no one really saw my feet and I would just wear them until they wore out and then go out and get another pair of black heels.  The idea of having multiple pairs of work shoes did excite me and I thought a good pair of nude heels would be a perfect wardrobe staple.  I absolutely love these, not too high for traipsing up and down the stairs either!

Black Jeggings (£12.99)-This is my version of the black legging, these are comfortable and look polished.  They don’t have a fly which is a bit strange, but they feel thick and good quality.

Sheer Bow Shell Top (£14.99)-I thought this blouse was absolutely adorable and since I have a habit of wearing dark/neutral tones I thought this would be a nice pop of colour.  It is sheer so I will be wearing a cami underneath, I will probably pair it with a pencil skirt and cardigan.

Aztec Print Dress (£17.99)-I was a little hesitant on whether or not to get this after trying it on.  I love the dress, but it is quite figure hugging if you know what I mean.  But I love the print and it’s a nice mid length and I think pairing it with a flowy black cardigan will tone it down and make it work appropriate (not that I’m too worried after seeing what some people deem “work appropriate”).

Beige Drop Cardigan (£12.99)-I already have a black cardigan, but I thought something lighter coloured would be nice.  I can’t resist a nice bit of knitwear.  And cardigans are a necessity at work for me because I tend to be cold all the time!

White Cami (£2.99)-Can’t have too many of these for layering under sheer tops and blouses.  Visible underwear is not in my definition of business casual.

What are some of your wardrobe essentials for the workplace?  What’s your workplace dress code?

xx

 

One thought on “New Look Haul: Business Casual

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

