Hangover Makeup

We’ve all been there I’m sure.  You roll out of bed, with last night’s makeup 2 inches from its initial location, clothes balled up in the corner, maybe some mystery bruises (or is that just me?), and a banging headache.  But unfortunately you have a lunch date, a meeting, dinner with the in-laws, and you have to pull it together and make your sad self somewhat presentable.

So here are my tips and some main points to consider when a little too much fun the night before has left you a bit haggard and not your usual beautiful fresh-faced self.

Hydrate-This is the first step, I don’t know about you, but besides being horribly thirsty, my skin also gets quite dry after a night out.  So it’s important to replace all that moisture you’ve lost through one too many cocktails and sweating on the dance floor.  The morning after, I try to drink as much water as possible, taking a multi-vitamin with your breakfast is also a good idea.  Sometimes water just doesn’t taste nice though and in that case I recommend Lucozade Revive or Vitamin Water Revive, both contain B vitamins which will help your hangover.

So we’ve hydrated the inside, now onto the outside.  I double up with a serum in addition to my normal daily moisturizer and if you’re one of those girls who can’t be bothered to moisturise except on special occasion or after you shave your legs, take the time to slap on some body lotion.

2013-06-22 12.05.01

Conceal-Drinking usually leaves me a bit splotchy and red-faced, and those dark purple circles under my eyes are a dead giveaway of last nights indiscretions.  So my picks to perk up my complexion are a BB cream (I’m currently using the Rimmel BB cream and loving it), this helps in the hydrate department as well and the Collection 2000 Lasting Finish Concealer to hide those bags.  I also line my waterline with Rimmel Scandal Eyes in nude to conceal any redness.

2013-06-22 12.05.37

Brighten-I like to keep my makeup light, you’re not really going to help yourself packing on the black eyeliner and smokey shadows if you’re already looking a bit heavy-eyed and tired.  So I went with a light brown/neutral eye and some MeMeMe Cosmetics Beat the Blues highlighter.  I would also stay away from powders and try to go for cream products that won’t cling to dry skin.  But you also don’t want to look too shiny after layering on all that moisturizer so try blotting with some oil absorbing sheets instead of reaching for the face powder.

2013-06-22 12.05.53

And now you’re ready to face the world!  Well, maybe after one more cup of coffee.

What are your best hangover tips?  Or do you prefer to hide from the world until you’ve recovered?

xx

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

