Boots Botanics Skin Calming Day Cream

For awhile I had day creams, night creams, and eye creams coming out my ears thanks to my monthly Glossybox subscription.  I ended up cancelling so I could work my way through my samples (also, you can only use so many pink boxes before you start running out of ideas).  So I was a bit shocked when I came to my last useable scraping of face cream and had no back ups left lurking in the depth of my makeup drawer.  So it was off to Boots on a lunch break to have a browse.

My criterion was that it had to be reasonably priced (I love a Monu moisturizer, but can’t quite justify the £16 price tag), preferably mattifying, thick texture, and contain an SPF.  I almost ended up with the Garnier Moisture Match, but I’m glad I didn’t end up purchasing it because I’ve read some less than favourable reviews recently.  There was an offer going on the Boots Botanics range and a pot of Skin Calming Day Cream with SPF 15 caught my eye.  The offer is actually still on and you can pick up this baby for £4.49!

2013-04-21 14.01.38I have been using this cream for about 3 weeks now and I absolutely love it!  It is thick and rich, but doesn’t leave your face greasy.  It’s perfectly moisturizing and the SPF 15 actually saved my face from getting horribly sunburned the other day.  I was in Bristol for a hen do and ended up sitting in a beer garden in the blazing sun for 4 hours.  I knew this wasn’t a good idea at the time and could feel myself roasting, but managed to escape with only the tiniest patch of sunburn across my collar bones, my face and neck that I used the moisturizer on were completely fine.

2013-04-21 14.01.55I think this is just a really good all round moisturizer and I really am interested in trying out other products from the Boots Botanics range.  The sales associate was telling me that the Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Gel Cream makes an excellent make up primer!

Have you tried anything from the Boots Botanics range?  What’s your holy grail moisturizer?

xx

2 thoughts on “Boots Botanics Skin Calming Day Cream

  1. I absolutely love this product too! I have really fair, and sensitive skin and so far this product has made my skin feel so soft and healthy! I haven’t tried any more products from the ‘Botanics’ line at Boots but am really curious to try some more. Totally agreed with your post about it and have loved reading your blog! X

    • Thank you! I think this is my favorite product from the line, but the Skin Brightening Toner and Cleansing Balm are really nice as well! x

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

