Product Review: Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation

About a month ago, I started to notice that my face was getting quite oily throughout my t-zone around mid day.  I had been using my beloved 17 BB Cream and more recently Dr Jart + Water Fuse BB Cream.  I really like the coverage that BB creams give, but my skin was just becoming too oily to continue using such moisturizing products.  I asked around on Twitter for a more mattifying foundation suggestion and was recommended Revlon Colorstay and Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation.  I chose the Rimmel foundation after a bit of research because Colorstay sounded a bit too cakey and heavy coverage for me.

2013-02-10 14.54.34I got the colour 100 Ivory which was a good match for my skin colour.  The formula is quite liquidy and spread easily over the skin.  I apply it with a Real Techniques buffing brush, you do have to really work it into the skin or it can look streaky with a brush.  It is one of those foundations that apply better with fingers.

The finish is semi-matte, it remains a bit dewy, not completely dull.  It sits on the skin nicely, I found with BB creams that your skin sometimes feels a bit slippery like the product never really dries.  It does last all day on me, although my chin sometimes will get a bit oily at the end of the day.  Can’t say if it lasts 25 hours or not, as I don’t require make up for that length of time 🙂

rimmel25hourThe before and after, just foundation, no concealer or powder.  It retails for £6.99 at Boots and I really love this foundation, such a good bargain in my opinion.

Have you tried Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation?  Does a foundation need to last 25 hours??

xx

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation

  1. Great review – I love my Dr.Jart BB Cream but I am trying to find foundation products WITHOUT SPF in them as they photograph weird. This will go on my “to try” list 🙂

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

