New Year 2013 Resolutions

I am usually not one for making New Year resolutions, but there are a few things I’d like to accomplish/change this year and I thought a few reasonable and achievable resolutions couldn’t hurt.

1.  Cleanse properly in the evening.  Right now my nightly cleansing routine consists of me using 2-4 cotton pads of eye makeup remover depending on the smokiness/amount of eyeliner caked on my face (skip this step if it’s not the weekend and I am just removing work makeup), a scrubbing with a face wipe, and perhaps a swipe of toner on another cotton pad.

This routine not only does not actually remove all my makeup, it creates a ridiculous amount of waste.  Since purchasing the Best of All Soap and Glory set, Peaches and Clean and a face cloth will be my new night-time routine.  I was a bit hesitant to use a cleanser in the evening because I thought it would take too much time (I usually have to rouse myself from the sofa and drag myself into the bathroom half asleep to complete my night-time routine).  I have found it is actually just as fast, if not quicker than my old routine.  I will make this resolution 5/7 days of the week though just to cover those occasional drunken stumbles into the flat on the weekends.

2.  Do Zumba on the X Box twice a week.  I am not concerned about losing weight and all that jazz, this is mainly to keep me feeling good and healthy.  I always feel better after forcing myself to do a quick 20 minute Zumba session after work and because my job is rather sedentary, it’s important for me to have some physical activity to keep myself in shape.

3.  Save a good chunk of money towards a mortgage deposit.  The mister and I are nearing a stage in our life where in a few year’s time, we’d like to have some kids, and that also goes along with a house to raise them in.  We’ve already set up some different high interest savings accounts to start saving regularly.  Doing grown up stuff like this makes me a little depressed, but is necessary.

And there they are!  My 3 little New Year’s resolutions!  Not too terribly intimidating or off-putting, which I think is important when making such things.

Have you made any New Year’s Resolutions?  Or do you think they’re a waste of time?

xx

7 thoughts on “New Year 2013 Resolutions

  1. Good luck with all your resolutions! My fiance and I have started discussing where we would like to end up in approximately 5 years, and we are actively saving for a house and researching towns we’d like to live in. Money makes it depressing, but the thought of getting our own little place and sprucing it up is pretty exciting! (Pinterest DIY projects!)

    I think it’s not so much making resolutions at New Years, but having general goals you’d like to accomplish or improve upon within a year’s time. As I said already, we are actively saving for a house which means cutting down on eating out, coffees, other purchases… I am already pretty thrifty but I made a goal to be even more so this coming year.

    Bottom line – always good to have a goal!

    • Yes, I love looking at houses, but it’s a ways down the line for us 🙂 Definitely, I think its just easy to do resolutions at the beginning of the year because it feels like a “fresh start”. I’d love to see your Pinterest boards! I’ve been neglecting mine lately x

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

