Review of Real Techniques Brushes

I had been pining away for Real Techniques brushes ever since they were released.  But with my current brush collection having a price tag of a few pounds per brush (ELF brushes with a few Sonia Kashuk eye brushes), I had a hard time justifying that much money on something I was doing happily enough without.  One day though, the mister really wanted to buy a new video game and propositioned that he would get his game and I could get my makeup brushes.  And deal done 🙂

2012-12-09 14.07.56I knew that I definitely wanted the Core Collection which includes the following:

Buffing Brush-My favorite brush from the collection, I use this to flawlessly apply my bb cream, buff powder into my face, blend out bronzer/blusher, and also to apply blusher.

Contour Brush-Second favorite to the buffing brush, I love this brush for contouring with a matte bronzer.  It does the job perfectly.

Foundation Brush-Don’t really use or like this brush, it’s a bit too small in my opinion to be a good a foundation brush.  I have a Sonia Kashuk foundation brush that does a better job.  Can be used to apply a highlight.

Detailer Brush-I have found no real use for this brush at all, and I’m not about to make one up just to create more work for myself.  Could really do without this brush.

So there you have it, now while I do really like the Buffing Brush and Contour Brush, I can really leave the rest of the Core Collection.  I suggest you purchase the Expert Face Brush and forgo the Core Collection.

I also purchased the Blush Brush as well (it was buy 1, get 1 half off).

2012-12-09 14.08.36This brush looks huge for applying blush, but the end does taper down and it actually does an excellent job.  I would definitely recommend this brush.

Some general points about the brushes:

-They are easy to clean and dry quickly

-I did not experience any real shedding issues

-Incredibly soft

-I do not like the large bases so the brushes can stand on their own, I think most people keep their makeup brushes in a jar or holder.  So kind of an annoying feature

What do you think of the Real Techniques Brushes?  Which are your favorites?

xx

4 thoughts on “Review of Real Techniques Brushes

  1. I want this set mainly because of the buffing brush. The foundation brush looks like it could be good for concealer.
    I also have the blush brush and really like it! xx

    • Have you checked out the Expert Face Brush? I’ve heard its a good substitute for the Buffing Brush if you don’t want to shell out for the whole set. x

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

