Product Review: Boots Cucumber Eye Makeup Remover

If you read my review of MUA Every Lash mascara (waterproof!) , you will know what an impossible task I found to remove it.  I had heard good things about the Boots Cucumber Eye Makeup Remover (I think Sunday Girl did a review on it) so I decided to pick it up and give it a try.  At £1.50, I figured I didn’t have much to lose.

The consistency of the Boots Cucumber Eye Makeup Remover is a somewhat runny gel that spreads easily onto a cotton pad.  I put a small amount in the center of a cotton pad and then kind of squish it around before holding it onto my eye and then wiping the makeup away.  It does have a cooling and soothing sensation.

I would say this is an ok makeup remover, it did remove the MUA Every Lash mascara, but only after a lot of scrubbing and about 3 cotton pads worth.  With other waterproof mascaras, I also find that it leaves some residue.  It does completely remove eye shadow so this might work for you if you use normal, non-water proof mascara.  It’s definitely nothing special though.

Have you tried the Boots Cucumber Eye Makeup Remover or any of the other Boots Essentials Cucumber line?

xx

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Boots Cucumber Eye Makeup Remover

  1. I’ve not tried this, but I am always on the look out for good eye make-up removers. For some reason I go through them like they are going out of fashion! So I am always looking for a cheap reliable one. I don’t use waterproof mascara so maybe this will be a good choice for me! I am currently using L’oreal’s gentle eye make-up remover. Think it was £3.50 for 125ml.

    • It might be worth a try then! I think I might just have to give up the waterproof mascara if I don’t want to fork out for an expensive remover. I am tempted to try Bioderma, but I can’t bring myself to spend that much! x

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

