Beauty Bargain Alert: Rimmel Stay Matte Powder

Rimmel Stay Matte powder has been raved and talked about quite a bit in the beauty community.  I, however, have been a die-hard Maybelline Dream Matte Powder girl ever since Missglamorrazzi talked about using it in one of her Youtube videos.  But recently after running out of my beloved Dream Matte, I decided to give Rimmel a try.  It is about £3 cheaper after all!

So how does it measure up?

-Rimmel Stay Matte Powder is much longer lasting than the Dream Matte Powder, while I needed to touch up at work with Dream Matte, the Rimmel Powder lasts all day.

-Rimmel Stay Matte Powder also has better coverage than the Maybelline Dream Matte, but you also have to be careful not to apply too much of the Rimmel Stay Matte or it can look cakey.

-Price wise, Rimmel wins at £3.99 compared to Maybelline at £7.19.

-My one negative though is the packaging of the Rimmel Stay Matte powder feels so flimsy and like it could crack open any minute.  I’m afraid to put it in my handbag because I think it would get battered.  I much prefer the clam shell style Maybelline packaging, it feels a lot sturdier.

Although packaging is an issue, I think I am a convert.  The quality and performance of the Stay Matte powder make it such a bargain!  I don’t miss my Maybelline Dream Matte the least bit so I think when I repurchase it will be Rimmel all the way!

Have you used Rimmel Stay Matte powder?  What is your holy grail face powder?

xx

7 thoughts on “Beauty Bargain Alert: Rimmel Stay Matte Powder

  1. Think Rimmel foundations and powders are really good…getting a lot of good press at the moment! I use their match perfection powder and love that! Packaging is much more sturdy too.

  2. This is exciting! I do love Rimmel products – but I agree, with a lot of them – the packaging is flimsy. I had an illuminator/bronzer from them that I loved but had the same type of packaging as the above product … fell one day and scattered all over the bathroom floor. Haven’t bought another one because I suspect with my clumsiness, it’ll happen all over again – I have a Covergirl Clean Pressed Powder that I love due to the sturdy clamshell packaging.

    • I am so paranoid in the bathroom with my products, definitely dropped a few powders and bronzers before (always seem to land in the bath and I have a nice shimmery bath to clean, haha). x

      • Supposedly, there is a way to save your bronzers etc when they shatter…add a few drops of rubbing alcohol and use a knife to shape them back the way they were…doesn’t always cooperate though – unfortunately! :/

      • hi… i’m Hend from Egypt
        I have tried some of Rimmel products …. these pressed powder is amazing as well as the cover stick

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

