The Crap Spot: Lipcote

Now, I haven’t done a Crap Spot in a while, mostly because I had not found a product that appalled me so that I needed to deem it firmly placed in said Crap Spot.  After last month’s train wreck of a Glossybox, I have a new product to take its seat in the Hall of Shame.  And that would be none other than what is considered by some to be a cult classic, Lipcote.

Now Lipcote claims to be “the secret to smudge, feather, fade and kiss proof lip colour that lasts”.  And Lipcote does in fact do all of those things, but that is not my issue with it.  Lipcote definitely does what it says on the tin, but at what price?

Upon initial use, I found Lipcote to sting my lips, nothing too terrible, but still.  Also, as soon as it dried over my lipstick, my lips felt horribly dry, like they needed to be smothered in lip balm, which would kind of defeat the purpose of not budging your lipstick.  There is also a disgusting chemical taste that I could taste every time I drank or ate something after using Lipcote.  I also found I had to be careful not to rub my lips together because my lipstick would kind of flake off.

So yes, not a pleasant experience at all.  Some of you may say, “Well, what about special occasions, put up with a bit of tingling, dry, chemical lips so your lipstick can look fabulous all evening?”  To that I say look to the current makeup shelves, there are a ton of long-lasting lip products out there that don’t dry out your lips or taste bad.  Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains for instance, I would rather shell out for a few of those than use this disgusting product.  It’s just not worth it.

Have you used Lipcote before?  Do you think it’s worthy of The Crap Spot or are you a fan?

xx

3 thoughts on “The Crap Spot: Lipcote

  1. I used this years ago ad found it to be just as bad as you say. I had heard recently that they’d tweaked the formula so I was gonna try it again, as I wear lippie a lot these days. Thanks to this review, I won’t be wasting my money!

  2. Ugh! It sounds similar to my experience with those supposed long lasting lip colors that include two products – color for the lips and then almost a “sealant” that shellacs it on! Horrid horrid stuff – I agree, I have a couple of the Revlon Kissable Balm Stains as well as a few of the Lip Butters by Revlon – WAY better products IMO, great color and coverage, long lasting, and treat your lips right! Great review!

    • Thank you! It’s just nasty, especially the fact that you can taste it! Definitely agree, there are so many better options out there x

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

