Eyelid Primers: MUA vs ELF

I have been using ELF’s Eyelid Primer for ages and have always been quite happy with it.  It keeps my eyeshadow in place and for a £1.50, you can’t really go wrong.  But in my last MUA order, I decided to give their new eyelid primer a go, a pound more expensive at £2.50.

Superficially, I prefer the MUA packaging, the MUA formula is a bit thicker than the ELF, but besides that they are pretty much the same.

ELF on the left and MUA on the right.  I decided to test the two products out to see if one outperformed the other by wearing ELF primer on one eye and MUA on the other for a full day.

There wasn’t any real difference in how the pigmentation showed up for the eyeshadow.  But here’s how my makeup looked after a full day of wear. *Sidenote: My eye makeup usually holds up much better than this in general, but I did take a bath(while doing my best to keep my face dry and makeup intact) in the evening which I normally wouldn’t do wearing eye makeup anyway, but for the experiment’s sake I left it on so I could go a full day.

Here’s the MUA eye, as you can see there is a fair amount of eyeshadow that has gone from the lid (again, under extreme bathing circumstances, normally, my eyeshadow would last all day with this primer).

And the ELF eye, which in my opinion, held up quite a bit better.  It’s definitely not as patchy/creased as the MUA eye.

And the verdict?  Both of these eyelid primers are excellent for everyday wear, but for extremely hot weather/rain/beach, I would say that ELF works best.

Have you tried either of these primers?  Do you wear a full face of makeup while bathing(:P)?

xx

4 thoughts on “Eyelid Primers: MUA vs ELF

  1. I’ve been thinking of ordering some bits from ELF and I think for £1.50 this primer has got to be added to the list!!x

  2. I want to try Elf’s primer, but can’t get it here. :/ It seems to hold up pretty well. 🙂
    I followed you on Bloglovin.
    Stay in touch,
    xoxo
    Visit: thereviewella.blogspot.com
    P.S. Hope you’ll follow back. 🙂

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

