Product Review: Illamasqua Freak Eau De Parfum

Illamasqua Freak Eau De Parfum is not a fragrance for everyone.  I didn’t even think it was a fragrance for me when I first received a sample of it in my November Glossybox.  Upon first smelling the fragrance, I was reminded of the scent of head shops with dread locked goths milling about.  I think when I really starting falling in love with this perfume was when I decided to wear it for a day (even though it had disgusted me initially).  It really grew on me and the scent really does transform on the skin.

There’s something about this scent that is very unique and sophisticated.  It’s definitely an evening scent as I find it too heavy for daytime wear.

Top Notes:  Black davana, opium flower, and belladonna.

Heart Notes:  Poison hemlock, datura, and queen of the night blossom.

Base Notes:  Frankincense, oud, and myrrh.

Now I know about what half of those scents are, but they do certainly sound dark and exotic.

Another thing I have to mention, which is a bit superfluous, but the bottle is perfection.  The little silver snail that sits atop the tilted bottle just makes me squee with delight every time I see it.  LOVE.

Illamasqua Freak Eau de Parfum was actually the first item I have purchased after receiving it in a Glossybox, and at £59.00 a bottle that is saying something.

Have you tried Freak Eau de Parfum?  Love it or hate it?

xx

 

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Illamasqua Freak Eau De Parfum

    • Ooo, I know they don’t sell it in Boots. I bought mine from their website, you also get a discount if you like their Facebook page (it’s not much, like 10-15%, but still helps!). x

  1. Wow, like others have said, that bottle is a work of art alone. However, I don’t think I would buy a perfume at that cost without having a chance to smell it so I will make that my mission for the next week!
    (Selfridges here I come)
    x

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

