Beauty Bargain Alert: Superdrug Expertise Haircare

This Christmas, my lovely husband bought me a hair dryer (he was adorable about it as well, “I did my research, it comes with a 3 year warranty!”.  For some reason, I never repurchased a hair dryer when I moved to the UK from the states (couldn’t bring mine with because of the different plug business), so I have just been letting my hair air dry for over a year.  This really hasn’t been a problem, except that my head gets really cold on the way to work in the morning and if I want to shower before we go out, I can’t wash my hair unless I want to go out with a wet head.  But anyway, no longer a problem.  What was a problem though is that I have extremely fine, thin hair that gets really frizzy when blow dried and that is easily damaged.

So on my lunch hour one day, I popped into Superdrug in search of a heat protectant to use with my new hair dryer.  I had a browse, didn’t really want to spend too much money and saw on offer on the Superdrug Expertise line for 2 for £3.49!

So I picked up the Heat Defence Spray and the Anti-Frizz Serum.  This line is supposed to be salon quality and I have to say, I am really happy with the results so far.  The packaging is also really nice, the spray nozzle on the Heat Defence Spray works great and the Anti-Frizz Serum has a handy little pump top.

The Heat Defence Spray is just sprayed into damp hair and brushed through before you blow dry.  And the Anti-Frizz Serum is rubbed through damp hair before blow drying.  I did use the serum after I had dried my hair to tame some frizzies and it did work, but using it on dry hair will make your hair feel greasy.

As with any styling products, you also should use a good clarifying shampoo once in awhile just to strip all the product build up from your hair.  I do think the Superdrug line really is as good as any other brand on the high street and it does the job its meant to do.

What heat protecting products do you use for styling your hair?  How do you feel about purchasing store brand products?

xx

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

