5 Minute Makeup: Daily Work Look

My daily makeup routine is quite minimal.  My morning usually consists of the following:  alarm goes off, hit snooze button 1-3 times depending on how late I stayed up watching episodes of Dexter, gather clothing, shower, make cup of tea, sip tea and browse the internets, realize I have to leave in 10 minutes and throw on some basic makeup before heading out the door.

So as you can see, my makeup routine is not high on my priority list and I am definitely in the less is more camp.  I used to not even wear makeup to work, just a sweep of face powder if I was looking particularly shiny, but being that I am interacting on a face to face basis with customers every day, I have taken a bit more time to develop a routine.

So I’ll walk you through my quick and simple makeup routine (that also will not break the budget!).  I start off using some of ELF’s All Over Cover Stick in Apricot Beige, I usually just dab some under the eyes to cover up my under eye circles and anywhere else that looks a bit red (around the nose and my chin usually, I do generally have pretty clear skin though).  After concealing, I used my ELF Kabuki brush to buff Maybelline’s Dream Matte Powder in Rose Ivory over my entire face.  I started using this powder after I heard MissGlamorazzi raving about it on Youtube and it is an amazing face powder.  It makes your face stay perfectly matte all day (although my skin has been quite matte just using the Monu Revitalising Moisturizer I received in my November Glossybox).

This powder also has the coolest packaging with a substantially sized swing out mirror and compartment for the applicator.  I am not using foundation at the moment just because I don’t really think its necessary, I want a natural look and my skin isn’t in a condition where I would need the extra cover at the moment.

After powdering my face, I use ELF’s Eyelid Primer on my eyelids.  Now this is an amazing product for the price, it really does keep my eyeshadow from creasing and falling out and I don’t see the need to spend any more on a higher end product.  This is one of ELF’s gems in my opinion.  My eyeshadow looks have been created mainly using neutrals from my Sleek Storm I-Divine palette or my MUA Heaven and Earth palette, love the colours in both of these palettes.

For the finishing touches on the eyes, I add some Barry M Intense eyeliner and use my Cover Girl Lash Blast Fusion mascara.  I really love my Lash Blast Fusion mascara, but I bought it while I was still living in the states and I’m pretty sure you can’t get it here.  I do believe there is a Max Factor equivalent that I will have to look into because I absolutely love this mascara.  The Barry M eyeliner is nothing to write home about.  I will also use ELF’s Eyebrow Gel if my eyebrows are looking particularily unruly in the morning.

For blush, I use Maybelline Dream Touch Blush in Berry.  I really love this blush and you only need a small amount of product to get a healthy looking flush.  As you can probably tell, I am a fan of Super Drug’s 3 for 2 deal, haha 🙂  Then I finish with popping on some lipstick, really liking the Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick in Beige Rose.  It’s a nice neutral pink and not too garish for the workplace.  And by this time, I look presentable to the general public and can head out the door.

How long does it take you to do your morning makeup routine?  Do you have a quick go to every day look for when you are running short on time?

xx

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

