ELF Haul and Review

Recently, I was tempted by the 40% offer at ELF.  I have purchased makeup from ELF before while I was living in the states.  If you’ve never heard of ELF it is basically a very discounted makeup vendor.  I was disappointed to find that the same products I bought in the states for $1 sold for £1.50 in the UK.  One thing to keep in mind with ELF is that at some point they will have a good discount offer going on so I would never purchase anything from them for full price.

I ended up spending about £17 for the following items (with shipping included):

Eyelid Primer-I bought the Essentials line primer, not the Mineral or Studio line and it definitely does the trick for a good eye shadow base.

Studio Stipple Brush-This was the biggest disappointment of my order.  I think I must have read the reviews wrong and gotten the Studio Blusher Brush which has good reviews mixed up for this brush.  The bristles are not dense at all, definitely couldn’t use it for foundation application.  It is ok to use with cream blushes, but using your fingers does just as good of a job.

Shimmer Eyeliner Pencils in Gunmetal and Blissful Blush-I really like these pencils, they have a nice creamy texture.  I’ve had problems in the past with ELF eyeliners being too hard to actually use effectively.  These are good for lining and for use as an eyeshadow base.  For a natural look, I just used Blissful Blush over my lid and under the eye a bit with some mascara.

Studio Cream Eyeliner-I’ve never used a cream eyeliner before, but this stuff is great.  I swatched some on the back of my hand the day I got it and it stayed on my hand all day.  It is easy to apply and long lasting.

Zit Zapper-I haven’t tried this yet, but if it is just tea tree oil I would think it would help with blemishes.

Nail Polish in Clear, Smoky Brown, Mod Mauve and Champagne-ELF nail polishes are great for the price and I think the Smoky Brown is an especially nice color for the fall.

All Over Cover Stick in Apricot Beige-I use this as a concealer, it’s good for hiding dark circles.  I would suggest the All Over Cover Stick over the Tone Correcting Concealer which is thin and frankly crap.  The Cover stick does a much better job at concealing.

Defining Eye Brush-A nice little brush for shading and contouring in the crease.  Definitely worth purchasing.

Lipstick in Seductive-A nice creamy lipstick with good color pay off.  You do need to apply a second coat to get even color.

So there you have it, a pretty good haul with the only disappointment being the Studio Stipple Brush.  I think ELF is a good company to purchase makeup from as long as you know which items to avoid and which things (like the nail polishes and eyeshadow brushes) are actually good solid products.

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

