July Glossybox Review

Like many others, I subscribed to Glossybox (a £10 a month subscription service where you receive 5 luxury beauty samples each month) after finding out about this new company.  When I was living in the states, I had heard about Birchbox, a similar service, and was intrigued so I was quite excited to find that there was a UK equivalent and signed up in early June.  I did not sign up early enough to receive the June box though.

And then what I like to refer to as Batiste Gate happened.  The June Glossybox was sent out including a sample of Batiste dry shampoo, a product you can pick up in a pound shop.  Then Glossybox notified subscribers that shipping charges would be added to £10 a month fee and the rewards program, Glossydots, got a whole lot crappier.  And miraculously during all this, a new sample subscription service appeared, Boudoir Prive, offering not 5, but 6 samples!  And no shipping charges.  Things did not look so hot for Glossybox.

But all this just got me more excited, I knew the July box would have to be amazing to combat all this negativity, but I can’t say I was exactly wowed.

In my box, I received the following:

Ciate Nail Enamel in Speed Dial

Now isn’t that something.

I was really excited when I saw the black bow in my box because I’ve heard a lot of good things about this nail varnish, but as soon as I saw the colour, all could thing was, “Well, maybe I could wear it at Halloween?”.  Not the best colour there.

The next product I received was Illamasqua Pure Pigment in Involve, again really excited about the brand, not so excited about the colour.

I tried this on last night thinking that I might be able to do a sort of smokey eye with some gray to tone down the bright purple of this product, but my husband took one look at me and refused to go out with me wearing it claiming that people would think I was a victim of domestic abuse.

I may try to see if I can find a good makeup tutorial for this colour because I would love to use it without looking like I have a black eye.

The next product is my favourite item out of the entire box, LP Skin Lip Rescue Gel.  This lip gel is so moisturizing and it give your lips a really nice tingling feeling.  I didn’t really like the flavour at first (orange oil), but it is growing on me now.

I also received a small sample of Ultra Sun Face 30 sunscreen.  Meh, I’ll use it if the sun ever comes out again this year.

The full size Weleda Pomegranate Regenerating Body Oil was second to the lip gel as far as favourites go.  I’ve been using it all over after I get out of the shower.  I think the smell is a little odd, kind of spicy, but other than that, great product.  Curious to see what kind of results I’ll get after using the body oil for an extended period of time.

So that was the July Glossybox, overall a really good box, just somewhat disappointed with the colours I received, especially after seeing the other options that were included in other Glossyboxes.  I have unsubscribed from Glossybox for now since I will be out of the country when the August box ships out.  After that though I might switch over to Boudoir Prive depending on how their August box goes.

So, are you on Team Glossybox or Boudoir Prive?

One thought on “July Glossybox Review

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

