Botanics Balm Cleanser

I am terrible when it comes to cleansing my face in the evenings.  My makeup removal routine used to consist of  face wipes, I’ve now upgraded to the L’Oreal Micellar Solution with a sweep of toner afterwards, sometimes.  Pretty dismal right?  I always would wake up in the morning with remnants of my mascara under my eyes so this obviously is not an effective routine.

Recently, I started having some problems with my normally well-behaved, takes a beating skin.  I had a spot on my chin and near my noise along with dry patchy skin in those areas that just wouldn’t go away.  I decided that my night-time “cleansing” habits were probably contributing to this so decided it was time to move on to “big girl” cleansers.  I decided on the Boots Botanics Cleansing Balm, mainly as it is affordable at £8.99, I can’t/won’t pay much more than that on anything in my beauty routine.  I also liked the idea you get some exfoliation in when removing it with a face flannel/wash cloth.

2014-03-15 13.12.37

With this cleanser, I use it straight after dinner if I’m not planning on going anywhere for the evening  This is so much easier than trying to take off my makeup and wash my face while all I want to do is find the quickest way to get into bed.

Onto the actual cleanser itself, it’s a thick gritty yellowish balm, it melts on contact with your skin.  I take a small blob and massage it into my skin, including my eye area (think it says to avoid the eyes on the package, but I’ve had no problems removing my eye makeup with it).  I take some time with this and really work it into my skin and eyelashes to get all the mascara off, then I run a wash cloth under hot water and use it to remove everything.  This is such a nice and luxurious feeling compared to sweeping on micellar water with cotton pads!  It makes my skin feel clean, but not tight.  I sometimes go over my eyes with micellar solution to make sure I’ve gotten everything off, but if you do a thorough job, it’s not really necessary.

2014-03-15 13.13.04

I’ve been using the cleanser for about 3 weeks now and I’m really liking it, think it will definitely become a staple in my skin care routine.

Have you tried balm cleansers?  What’s your favorite way to remove your makeup?

xx

2 thoughts on “Botanics Balm Cleanser

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

