Dry Winter Scalp Tip!

I’ve always struggled with dry hair, opting for moisturising shampoo and conditioners, but with the change in the weather, my scalp has become incredibly itchy and dry as well!

I am not a big fan of the DIY hair masks, I remember one time at university I thought it would be a good idea to throw one together.  I found a recipe for a mask using a raw egg and plain yoghurt.  Unfortunately the only yoghurt I have on hand was strawberry.  So I ended up rubbing cold, slimy egg yoghurt through my hair and picking out bits of strawberry for the next few days.  Lovely.

So instead of raiding your refrigerator, and sitting around with various items that should probably be used to make breakfast rather than be on your head, the answer, my friends, is tea tree oil!

2013-11-22 12.00.32I love tea tree oil, I use it for a ton of different things.  It’s great to dab on blemishes and I find it’s the only thing that seems to work when you get those annoying cracks in the corners of your mouth that take ages to heal.

As for your scalp, what I found you can also do is add a few drops to your conditioner before applying to your hair.  Or you can just add a tablespoon and mix in with the entire bottle.

I found this immediately soothed my itchy scalp.  It’s quick and easy, and because it has so many uses, it’s just nice to have a bottle of tea tree oil on hand anyway!

What are some of your favorite DIY fixes?  Have you tried using tea tree oil?

xx

2 thoughts on “Dry Winter Scalp Tip!

    • It’s an antiseptic so I think that helps with healing, what I do is dab some on before I go to sleep when I get cracked corners and then wear a good lip balm during the day. Seems to be the only thing that does the trick for me!

Leave me a comment, I love reading them and will try to reply to each one!

